Robin Thicke’s “Blurred Lines”

If you haven’t heard of this song or listened to it by now, you probably don’t have the internet and so are also probably not reading this.  So you matter not at all in the great scheme of this post.  If by some chance you do have the internet and haven’t heard or heard of the song, go listen to it:

For those of you who just listened to it and everyone else who already knew,  I’m sure some of you thought it was catchy, some of you didn’t care much for it, and some of you are OUTRAGED BY THE RAPE CULTURE THIS SONG PERPETUATES!!!!!                …wait what?

I’ve read more than a few blogs, the latest one HERE talking about how rape-y this song is.  I’ve also read over the lyrics HERE and then I went and read what Robin had to say about it HERE.  It’s a song about his wife.  Now you’ll all be subjected to what I think about it HERE.

Should we go through this song line for line or paragraph for paragraph?  Lets go paragraph for paragraph because that line for line shit reminds me of militant  religious people trying to justify treating people badly and misinterpreting their holy books.   …wait.  Misinterpreting something by going sentence by sentence instead of taking the whole into account?  Freaking Bible touting hipsters, misinterpreting things before they were cool.

“Everybody get up
Everybody get up
Hey, hey, hey
Hey, hey, hey
Hey, hey, hey”

Not entirely sure, but this seems to be Pharrell telling us he hates women.  No wait.  He just wants everyone to dance.  Right.  Pretty self explanatory.  Moving right along.

“If you can’t hear what I’m trying to say
If you can’t read from the same page
Maybe I’m going deaf,
Maybe I’m going blind
Maybe I’m out of my mind
[Pharrell:] Everybody get up”

Robin is pontificating on the idea that if you don’t understand the message he’s conveying, maybe he’s the one going crazy, not you.  A very stand up approach to the whole thing.

Pharrell meanwhile is still trying to objectify women.   No wait.  He still wants you to dance.  I keep getting those mixed up.  Next!

“OK now he was close, tried to domesticate you
But you’re an animal, baby, it’s in your nature
Just let me liberate you
Hey, hey, hey
You don’t need no papers
Hey, hey, hey
That man is not your maker”

Robin sees a woman trying to be broken (domesticated) by a man.  He offers to help and reminds her that the man who is mistreating her is not the boss of her and she is allowed the freedom to do what she wants.   Robin is such a bastard.  Oh wait.  That’s a good thing.

“And that’s why I’m gon’ take a good girl
I know you want it
I know you want it
I know you want it
You’re a good girl
Can’t let it get past me
You’re far from plastic
Talk about getting blasted
I hate these blurred lines
I know you want it
I know you want it
I know you want it
But you’re a good girl
The way you grab me
Must wanna get nasty
Go ahead, get at me
[Pharrell:] Everybody get up”

He talks about liberating (taking) her from the guy that’s mistreating her.  He knows she wants him to.  (They’ve probably talked about it.)  Robin said he wrote this song for his wife whom he calls his “good girl.”  She’s far from being someone’s toy (not plastic) and he hates that anyone talks about or treats her that way (“putting her on blast” or “getting blasted”).  Speaking from personal experience, I know that when my wife grabs me, she wants to get nasty.  He’s all about it.  “Go ahead, get at me.”  Then Pharrell has to ruin the mood again.  Oh wait,  it’s a dance song and he’s just trying to get people to dance again.

“What do they make dreams for
When you got them jeans on
What do we need steam for
You the hottest bitch in this place
I feel so lucky
Hey, hey, hey
You wanna hug me
Hey, hey, hey
What rhymes with hug me?
Hey, hey, hey”

Well this is a pretty self explanatory part where he tells his wife how hot he thinks she is and suggests they probably should go do the horizontal mambo.  I suggest that to my wife all the time in way lewder and more descriptive terms.

This next bit is a big chunk so I’m going to take it in stages.  Also he’s not the one singing this bit so I’m not entirely sure if he wrote this part, but it goes along with the rest of the song so I’m going to assume he did.

“One thing I ask of you
Let me be the one you back that ass to
Go, from Malibu, to Paris, boo
Yeah, I had a bitch, but she ain’t bad as you
So hit me up when you pass through
I’ll give you something big enough to tear your ass in two”

Robin is telling her he wants to be her only one.  He had a woman before who wasn’t as great a match for him as she is.  Since she’s a model and he’s a music star, they don’t see each other much.  When they do pass through the same place or get to spend time at home together, he’s going to “tear her ass in two.”  A term used to describe sex.  Personally I say I’m going to “break her in half.”  But that’s my personal phrase used to describe sex so DON’T STEAL IT!

“Swag on, even when you dress casual
I mean it’s almost unbearable
In a hundred years not dare, would I
Pull a Pharside let you pass me by”

Again he’s reaffirming his idea that she is super hot and one of a kind.

“Nothing like your last guy, he too square for you
He don’t smack that ass and pull your hair like that
So I just watch and wait for you to salute
But you didn’t pick
Not many women can refuse this pimpin’
I’m a nice guy, but don’t get it if you get with me

Shake the vibe, get down, get up
Do it like it hurt, like it hurt
What you don’t like work?”

Let me be blunt here:  Some women dig kinkier things than straight missionary position sex.  Some of them don’t consider “vanilla” sex to be great sex.  His wife is obviously one of the women who like the more interesting variety of sexual encounter.  They guy she was with before didn’t understand that.  Probably one of the ways he tried “domesticating” her.  He tells her he’s a nice guy but that doesn’t mean he isn’t also a freak in the bed like her.

“Baby can you breathe? I got this from Jamaica
It always works for me, Dakota to Decatur, uh huh
No more pretending
Hey, hey, hey
Cause now you winning
Hey, hey, hey
Here’s our beginning”

Well I’m going out on a limb here and making an assumption that what they’re breathing from Jamaica is probably weed.  Either that or he bought something in Jamaica that he’s asphyxiating her with.  (Which she might like.  I know some women who also dig that.)  He tells her she doesn’t have to pretend to like the boring sex she used to have with the other guy because now shes with him and they can have great sex.  Now you’re winning is obviously a reference to Dave Chappelle’s “Speed Fucker” standup bit.  Now she gets the orgasms.

   Skip to 1:22 in the video to get to the point.  Or watch the whole thing if you want to laugh.

And that’s the whole song.  Except…

“Everybody get up
Everybody get up
Hey, hey, hey
Hey, hey, hey
Hey, hey, hey”

Goddammit Pharrell!  Stop mistreating women!  Oh wait.

So in closing,  let me just say that rape is a tragedy.  Something that no one, male or female should ever go through.  If it has happened to you or anyone you know, and chances are unfortunately high that it has, I am sorry you had to go through that.

This song, however crude, is not the worst thing out there by far.  As I see it, when taken in context with what it was actually about.  It’s a poignant love song to Robin’s wife.  If you want to take issue with a song, Try Brown Sugar by the Rolling Stones.  That has soooooo many issues, rape being one of the many.

Different interpretation has been the cause of countless wars and social misunderstandings throughout the centuries.  The internet has made it a lot easier to perpetuate these misunderstandings.  Which isn’t necessarily a bad thing, but isn’t necessarily a good thing either.  And really, that’s just my interpretation of the song (and Robin’s coincidentally).

Leave a Reply

